EU to deepen ties with former Soviet states

EU Observer reports that Europe plans to launch its free trade agreement with Ukraine in January 2016, despite Russian objections. The EU has also reached free trade agreements with Georgia and Moldova, which along with Ukraine, make up half of the EU Eastern Partnership states. The other three countries - Armenia, Azerbaijan and Belarus - have weaker relations with the EU, though Azerbaijan plans to soon start shipping gas to Europe. This year’s Eastern Partnership Summit is scheduled to take place May 17 in Riga, Latvia.


Read original source.